Chat With Agent

New Neighborhood Plans in Central Israel: Homes and Stage

Find My Israel Property Now
30-second inquiry · No obligation
Table of Contents

Central Israel’s largest new neighborhood plans range from about 18,000 homes in south-east Holon to about 1,050 in Yehud-Monosson, and almost none of them is ready to build yet. Most of the plans on this page were at the hearing or deposit stage in 2026, which means objections can still be heard and the numbers can still change. Only two are approved: Ness Ziona North-East, approved in 2022 and partly marketed to builders, and the Weizmann Institute’s student and staff housing in Rehovot, validated in August 2026. Before you buy, rent or invest because “a new neighborhood is coming”, check which stage the plan has really reached, who owns the land and whether the metro or light rail it relies on exists yet. This page lists the plans with the numbers and dates published on gov.il, in Israel Land Authority releases and in press reports republished there, checked on 29 October 2026.

How to tell a deposited plan from an approved one

Israeli press releases use the word “approved” loosely. In planning law, a plan goes through several separate steps, and each one means something different for a buyer. The Planning Administration’s glossary on gov.il defines them as follows.

  1. Hearings. The planning committee discusses the plan, sometimes more than once, and can ask for changes. Nothing is binding yet.
  2. Decision to deposit (approved for deposit). The committee decides the plan is fit to be deposited. It is often “deposit with conditions” (הפקדה בתנאים): the plan must first be corrected, and only when the conditions are met is it actually deposited.
  3. Actual deposit (הפקדה, hafkada). The plan is published for public inspection, and anyone who considers themselves harmed can file an objection. The deposit period is 60 days and can be extended. The documents are open at the planning body’s offices, on the local committee’s website and on the national planning portal.
  4. Objections. Objectors present their case, and the committee decides whether to approve the plan, reject it or change it.
  5. Validation (מתן תוקף, matan tokef). The committee sets the final corrections; once they are made, the plan is given validity. Building permits are issued under plans in force, so tenders and construction normally come after this step.

Two real 2026 examples show the gap. Hadera’s Complex 13 plan was approved for deposit by the Haifa district committee on 26 November 2025 but was only actually deposited months later, after the deposit conditions were met. Modi’in’s HaMaayanot plan was actually deposited on 30 June 2026. A headline that says “approved” may describe either step, and neither is a final approval.

District committee or Vatmal

Most of the plans below go through a district planning and building committee (ועדה מחוזית), which is responsible for planning in its district and approves local and detailed plans within its powers. Others go through the Vatmal (ותמ”ל), the National Committee for Preferred Housing Areas. The Vatmal is a national planning body that approves large detailed housing plans on land the government or a ministerial committee has declared a “preferred housing complex”, and its plans can lead straight to building permits without another plan. In central Israel the Planning Administration’s list of declared Vatmal complexes (updated 26 April 2026) includes Or Yehuda’s south-east complex (TML/1106), Azor’s Park neighborhood (TML/1112), Herzliya’s Kiryat HaMaslul (TML/1083) and northern complex (TML/3006), and South Glilot (TML/3007). Hatefer, Eucalyptus Grove, Yehud, Modi’in, Ramla and Rehovot went through the Central district committee, and H/500 through the Tel Aviv district committee. For the background on plan types and zoning, see our guide to zoning laws in Israel.

The plans at a glance

The table lists each plan with the stage it had reached on the date of the official release we used. Stages move, so treat the date column as the “last confirmed” date, not today’s status.

New neighborhood plans in central Israel: homes, stage and transit, as published in 2022 to 2026
Plan and city Plan number Homes (about) Stage, with date Transit the plan relies on Housing mix noted
H/500, south-east Holon H/500 (ח/500) 18,000 Second Tel Aviv district committee hearing; described as nearing deposit (April 2026) Two planned M1 metro stations, one planned Green Line light rail station About 4,500 affordable homes, long-term rental, special housing, about 1,100 small homes
Hatefer, Hod Hasharon HR/50/19/1000 (הר/50/19/1000) 3,085 Central district committee discussion of the updated plan (release of 29 April 2026); not stated as deposited A planned metro station beside the site At least 25% inclusive housing, about 110 long-term rental homes, 300 assisted-living units
Eucalyptus Grove, north Hod Hasharon Not given in the report 1,135 Central district committee decided to deposit (January 2026) Near Sokolov and Nordau railway stations, Road 531 About 170 small homes up to 55 sqm
Southern CBD, Yehud-Monosson Not given in the release 1,050 Approved for deposit by the Central district committee (9 March 2026) Along the Purple light rail line under construction on Road 461 About 750 homes plus about 300 special-housing units
Rabin West, Or Yehuda TML/1106 (תמל/1106) 2,640 Actually deposited after Vatmal approval (week of 19 May 2026) Green boulevard to a planned metro station in the west of the city Not stated
HaMaayanot, Modi’in-Maccabim-Re’ut MD/100 (מד/100) 3,575 Actually deposited by the Central district committee (30 June 2026) Not stated; south of Road 443 About 300 special-housing units
Shaar Tzafon, Ramla Not given in the report 1,700 Central district committee decided to deposit (3 August 2026) Future Tel Hai metro station, Brown Line BRT, Road 40 350 assisted-living, 360 long-term rental, about 600 homes up to 80 sqm
Weizmann Institute housing, Rehovot Not given in the report 805 units Validated by the Central district committee (2 August 2026) Future Weizmann metro station, Rehovot railway station Student and staff housing only
Ness Ziona North-East 407-0730606 2,778 Approved 6 December 2022; about 1,037 homes marketed by January 2026 Not stated Not stated

Source: Israel Land Authority and Planning Administration releases on gov.il, and mako and ynet reports republished on gov.il (H/500, Eucalyptus Grove, Ramla, Rehovot), listed under Sources below; checked 29 October 2026. Transit lines marked planned or future are not yet running.

Planned homes per plan, central Israel, as published January to August 2026 (stages differ; Weizmann student housing excluded)
H/500, Holon18,000
HaMaayanot, Modi’in3,575
Hatefer, Hod Hasharon3,085
Ness Ziona North-East2,778
Rabin West, Or Yehuda2,640
Shaar Tzafon, Ramla1,700
Eucalyptus Grove, Hod Hasharon1,135
Southern CBD, Yehud-Monosson1,050

Source: the same gov.il releases and republished reports as the table above; bar length is relative to H/500; checked 29 October 2026.

The plans one by one

H/500, south-east Holon

H/500 is a new urban district of about 3,390 dunam (a dunam is 1,000 sqm) with about 18,000 homes for about 56,000 residents, updating the city’s 2018 outline plan. In April 2026 the Tel Aviv district committee held its second hearing and the plan was described as approaching deposit. It depends on future transport: two stations on metro line M1 and a station on the Green light rail line. Near the southern metro station, the plan sets an area where cars cannot enter private parking, with parking gathered in neighborhood hubs.

About 4,500 homes are meant to be affordable, alongside long-term rental homes in single ownership, special housing and about 1,100 small homes, and a “diyuriyot” (דיוריות) mechanism is meant to add more small units for young couples and singles. The plan also includes about 1.35 million sqm of employment and commerce, linking Holon to Rishon LeZion, and the Holot (Dunes) Park of about 1,100 dunam, of which about 850 dunam preserve sand dunes, with buffer zones between the park and the housing.

The catch is ownership. The land has many private owners alongside about 20% that is Israel Land Authority land, and there are noise limits from the nearby airport and property-rights problems. The next step is a hearing on the reparcellation tables (איחוד וחלוקה, ichud ve-chaluka), the appraiser-prepared tables that decide what each landowner receives in the new layout. The report calls this step critical to delivery. If someone offers you a private plot “in H/500”, the value depends on those tables, not on the headline home count.

Hatefer and Eucalyptus Grove, Hod Hasharon

The Israel Land Authority’s Hatefer (מתחם התפר) plan, HR/50/19/1000, covers about 276 dunam around a city park between the Magdiel and Ramatayim parts of Hod Hasharon. At a Central district committee professional discussion, reported on 29 April 2026, it grew by about 1,000 homes to about 3,085, some for rent and some for older adults, and was adapted to TAMA 70, the national metro plan. The release says at least 25% of the homes will be “inclusive housing”, with 15% very small homes of up to 55 sqm; it does not make clear whether that 15% is of all homes or of the inclusive share. It also includes about 110 long-term rental homes and 300 assisted-living units.

Buildings rise to 26 floors near Magdiel Street, in the metro’s “first ring”, stepping down to about 10 floors in the south, with shops along Ben Gamla and Magdiel streets and facing the park. Road widths were narrowed for walking, about 3.3 km of bike paths were added, and a linear park 30 to 40 meters wide and about 800 meters long keeps the existing eucalyptus grove. Parking follows the metro’s interim standards, which means fewer spaces than a standard plan, so check the parking allocation in any purchase contract.

Separately, in north Hod Hasharon by Road 531, the Central district committee decided in January 2026 to deposit the privately initiated Eucalyptus Grove plan: about 1,135 homes on about 104 dunam in 8 to 31 floor buildings, about 170 small homes of up to 55 sqm, and a 1,200 sqm center for people with disabilities. We cover it in detail in our Eucalyptus Grove guide.

Southern CBD, Yehud-Monosson

On 9 March 2026 the Central district committee approved for deposit the “Southern CBD” plan of the Israel Land Authority and Yehud-Monosson municipality. It covers about 860 dunam south of Road 461, south-east of Road 412 and north of the Nahal Yehud channel, near the planned new gateway to Ben Gurion Airport. It proposes about 750 homes plus about 300 special-housing units, about 445,000 sqm of employment, about 57,600 sqm of retail and a hotel of about 300 rooms, in buildings of up to 16 floors.

The district runs along the Purple light rail line, which the release describes as under construction on Road 461. Road 461 is meant to become an urban boulevard once the approved Road 46 is built to the south, and the city’s new outline plan foresees about 100,000 residents. Note how the land is used: roads take about 407 of the 860 dunam and open space about 234 dunam plus 63 shared with public buildings, while housing with commerce has about 64 dunam and special housing about 6. This is mainly an employment center with homes, not a housing estate.

Rabin West, Or Yehuda

Or Yehuda’s Rabin West plan (TML/1106) was actually deposited in the week of 19 May 2026, after the Vatmal approved it for deposit. It covers about 229 dunam in the south-east of the city, between Sderot Yitzhak Rabin, Road 412 and Hativat Alexandroni Street, with about 2,640 homes in 15 to 16 floor towers and about 150,000 sqm of employment and commerce. Pedestrians come first: car traffic is routed to the edge roads, and a green boulevard links the neighborhood to the old center, the southern neighborhoods, Ayalon Park and a planned metro station in the west of the city. The park and the station are both still planned.

HaMaayanot, Modi’in

The Central district committee actually deposited the HaMaayanot plan (MD/100) on 30 June 2026. It adds about 3,575 homes on about 550 dunam next to the Karmim neighborhood, south of Road 443, in buildings averaging about 6 to 8 floors plus two 25-floor towers and about 300 special-housing units. For what living in Modi’in costs and who it suits, see our Modi’in property guide.

Shaar Tzafon, Ramla

On 3 August 2026 the Central district committee decided to deposit “Shaar Tzafon”, an urban renewal plan for Ramla’s northern industrial zone promoted by the Planning Administration: about 1,700 homes in 9 to 30 floor buildings next to the future Tel Hai metro station, Road 40 and the Brown Line BRT. The report says the area was declared a Pinui Binui compound under the Government Authority for Urban Renewal law, which allows tax benefits for developers. It is split into separate reparcellation compounds: mixed-use towers by the metro, an employment buffer between homes and industry, and the regularization of the Gan Hakal neighborhood, where 80 new homes are planned and 15 buildings on farmland are regularized.

The housing mix leans small: 350 assisted-living units, 360 long-term rental homes, about 300 homes of up to 55 sqm, about 300 of up to 80 sqm and about 390 large homes, so about 60% are up to 80 sqm. The plan also has about 588,000 sqm of employment (about 300,000 sqm more than the currently approved plans allow), hotel uses, about 210,000 sqm of public buildings on about 70 dunam and about 35 dunam of open space.

Weizmann Institute housing, Rehovot

On 2 August 2026 the Central district committee validated a Weizmann Institute plan for 805 units for students and staff, with about 900 sqm of shops on Herzl Street. The 36-unit Sami Cohen dormitory will be replaced by four buildings, two of them 25-floor towers, next to the future Weizmann metro station and Rehovot railway station. These are not open-market homes, but they matter to Rehovot renters: new campus housing could ease some demand for small rentals near the institute.

Ness Ziona North-East

Plan 407-0730606, “Ness Ziona North-East”, was approved on 6 December 2022 for a new neighborhood of 2,778 homes on former farmland. It is the only plan on this page whose land is already being marketed to builders: about 1,037 homes had been marketed by January 2026, following the plan’s phasing. In January 2026 the Israel Land Authority’s management approved a framework with the city. Two “matruka” (מתרוכה) parcels registered to the municipality (block 3641 parcel 148 and block 3642 parcel 8) overlap six plots meant for 723 homes; under the framework the city council is to vote on returning them to the state for the Authority to manage, and the city receives no payment for them. The urban renewal clauses were removed from the umbrella agreement between the Authority and the city.

The same decision reserves plot 103 (126 homes) as complementary land for the Nehemia renewal compound (plan 407-0871731, approved 10 September 2025: 271 homes to be demolished and about 640 built on about 33 dunam), which an initial economic check, made at the city’s request and reviewed by an Authority appraiser, found not viable. The allocation depends on the city naming Nehemia the most deserving compound, a recommendation from the Government Authority for Urban Renewal, the city agreeing to a full or partial betterment levy exemption, and an up-to-date appraisal at the time of allocation. If the plot at 91% of its value still does not make the project viable, it is allocated at 91% and the extra discount comes from the Government Authority for Urban Renewal’s budget, at the city’s request.

Other large plans we have not added to the table

Several other large plans near Tel Aviv are on the Vatmal track but not in the table, because the home counts and current stages we found in press reports disagree with each other or are out of date. The Planning Administration’s list confirms these declared Vatmal complexes: Herzliya Kiryat HaMaslul (TML/1083, declared 13 August 2017) and Herzliya’s northern complex (TML/3006, declared 31 December 2018), South Glilot, known as Pi Glilot (TML/3007, declared 14 March 2022, on land with many owners), and Azor’s Park neighborhood (TML/1112, declared 8 November 2021). In April 2026 the Israel Land Authority said the land by the Herzliya airfield is meant for the new Kiryat HaMaslul neighborhood once the airfield stops operating. We will add home counts and stages once we have matched them to the plan records.

Two of these sites are former airfield or fuel-depot land. In August 2026, reports named the Herzliya airfield and Pi Glilot among sites flagged for checks for PFAS, long-lasting chemicals linked to firefighting foam; see our report on toxic soil under Israel’s new home sites.

What buyers and renters should check

  • The real stage. Look up the plan number on the national planning portal (MAVAT) or the local committee’s website. “Approved for deposit”, “deposited” and “validated” are three different things, and permits are issued under plans in force.
  • Who owns the land. On private land such as much of H/500, read the reparcellation tables before buying a plot or a share. On state land, homes reach the market through Israel Land Authority tenders, in phases.
  • Transit that exists today. Many of these plans rely on metro, light rail or BRT lines that are planned, not running. Price the home on today’s commute, and treat the future line as a bonus with no fixed date.
  • Parking. Plans near metro stations use reduced or interim parking standards, and some areas bar cars from private parking. Check how many spaces, if any, your contract gives you.
  • The housing mix. Assisted living, long-term rental, special housing and very small homes change who will live in a neighborhood and how resale demand behaves.
  • The soil. On former airfields, army bases and fuel depots, ask in writing whether soil tests and cleanup are done before you sign.

For a fuller checklist on schools, roads, future supply and developer track record, read how to evaluate a new neighborhood development before buying a presale apartment.

This is general information, not legal or tax advice; confirm with a licensed professional.

Sources

  1. Planning Administration, glossary of planning terms (deposit, deposit with conditions, objections, validation, district committee, Vatmal, reparcellation tables), gov.il, checked 29 October 2026.
  2. Planning Administration, list of declared Vatmal complexes, updated 26 April 2026.
  3. mako report on plan H/500, south-east Holon, republished on gov.il, 14 April 2026.
  4. Israel Land Authority, Hatefer plan, Hod Hasharon (HR/50/19/1000), 29 April 2026.
  5. ynet report on the Eucalyptus Grove plan, Hod Hasharon, republished on gov.il, January 2026.
  6. Israel Land Authority, Southern CBD plan, Yehud-Monosson, 10 March 2026.
  7. Israel Land Authority, Rabin West plan, Or Yehuda (TML/1106) deposited, 19 May 2026.
  8. Israel Land Authority, HaMaayanot plan, Modi’in (MD/100) deposited, 1 July 2026.
  9. Israel Land Authority, Hadera Complex 13 plan deposited, June 2026.
  10. ynet report on the Ramla Shaar Tzafon and Weizmann Institute plans, republished on gov.il, 3 August 2026.
  11. Israel Land Authority, management decision 5975 (Ness Ziona), 21 January 2026.
  12. Israel Land Authority, enforcement at the Kiryat HaMaslul site, Herzliya, 20 April 2026.

Thinking of buying a new-build or off-plan home in one of these areas? Send Semerenko Group your buyer brief with your budget, the cities you are considering and when you need to move, and we will tell you which projects are actually selling now and what stage their plans have reached.

Semerenko Group will use your details only to answer this inquiry through the channel(s) you provide. Privacy Policy · Terms
Privacy detailsSemerenko Group is the controller. Providing details is voluntary; without a contact method we cannot reply. Relevant agents, developers or service providers may receive them where needed to answer or match your request. For access or correction, email hello@semerenkogroup.com or see our Privacy Policy.