As of 29 October 2026, this tracker lists 28 urban renewal plans in 16 Israeli cities, from Petah Tikva and Ramat Gan to Haifa, Jerusalem, Sderot and Eilat, with the homes on each site today, the homes planned, the building heights and the stage each plan has reached. The largest are Petah Tikva’s citywide earthquake-strengthening plan (a target of about 11,000 new homes, final approval announced January 2026), the renewal of Be’er Ya’akov’s old centre (about 9,623 homes, approved for deposit in August 2026) and Netivot’s city centre (about 7,500 homes, deposited in July 2026). Most plans here are not yet in force, and even an approved plan is not a building permit. Each plan comes from a government announcement, a news report listed on gov.il or the plan’s own record, with each row checked against Xplan, the national planning database, on 29 October 2026 wherever the plan is listed there.
Urban renewal in Israel mostly means Pinui Binui (פינוי בינוי, “evacuate and build”), where old blocks are demolished and replaced by a denser new compound, and building-by-building strengthening under TAMA 38 or the city plans that replace it. If the terms are new to you, start with our urban renewal guide to TAMA 38 and Pinui Binui and the Pinui Binui explainer. This page is for a narrower question: which older buildings have a renewal plan, where, and how far along it is.
How to read a plan’s stage
Every row shows two things: the latest decision reported for the plan, and the plan’s status on Xplan, the Planning Administration’s (מינהל התכנון) public planning database, as we read it on 29 October 2026. The statuses run in this order:
- Submitted and under review. The plan passed the planning office’s intake check and is being examined. Nothing is decided yet.
- Deposit approved, conditions being met. The committee decided to deposit the plan (הפקדה) but the planners still have to make the changes it asked for. The plan is not yet open to objections.
- Deposited for objections. The plan is published and people affected by it can file objections within the period the notice sets.
- In the approval process. Once the objection period ends, the committee hears the objections and decides whether to approve the plan, with or without changes. Xplan shows plans at this point as “in the approval process” or “deciding objections, approval stage”. A committee can approve a plan before the approval is published.
- Approval published (validity, מתן תוקף). The plan is in force. Developers can now apply for building permits, but owners still have to sign, financing has to close and residents have to move out before demolition. Older plans can show simply as approved.
A plan’s stage is separate from a compound’s status with the Government Authority for Urban Renewal, such as a declaration or a place on the Authority’s map. Our guide to how Pinui Binui compounds are declared, approved and funded explains those statuses and the tax and subsidy rules that come with them.
Where an announcement and Xplan give different home counts, we show the announced figure first and the Xplan figures in brackets as existing plus added homes. Xplan’s figures can reflect the version of the plan that was filed rather than the one the committee approved, so treat the gap as a reason to read the plan documents, not as an error in either source.
Central Israel and the Sharon
| City and compound (plan) | Homes now | Homes planned | Height | Latest decision reported | Xplan status, 29 Oct 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Petah Tikva, citywide plan for buildings that need earthquake strengthening (410-0973511) | About 2,500 buildings with about 35,000 homes need strengthening | Target of about 11,000 new homes, subject to public-space capacity | Set by renewal zone | Final approval (validity) by the Central District Committee, announced 20 Jan 2026 | Approval published |
| Herzliya, Sokolov 25-27 (504-1162833) | 13 | 140 (Xplan: 13 + 117) | 20 floors | Final approval (validity), reported 1 Oct 2026 | Approval published |
| Herzliya, Sokolov 87-89 at Hadar and Kalisher (504-1160159) | 35 (Xplan) | 100 homes in a new tower, two historic buildings kept (Xplan: 35 + 100) | 20 floors | Deposited; objections to be heard after Sukkot 2026, reported 1 Oct 2026 | Deciding objections, approval stage |
| Be’er Ya’akov, old centre (TML/2054) | About 769 | About 9,623 | Up to 30 floors | Approved for deposit by the national housing committee (VATMAL, ותמ”ל), 12 Aug 2026 | Not found on Xplan when checked |
| Ramla, Giora compound (TML/2050) | 920 (Xplan) | 3,356 (Xplan: 920 + 2,436) | Not stated | Approved by VATMAL; Xplan approval date December 2024 | Approval published |
| Ramla, Eshkol compound (415-1186154) | 838 (Xplan) | 3,176 (Xplan: 838 + 2,338) | Not stated | Deposit decided at the hearing of 3 Aug 2026 (Xplan) | Deposit approved, conditions being met |
| Ramla, train-station compound (TML/2055/A) | About 35 | About 1,029 | Not stated | Approved for deposit by VATMAL, 15 Jul 2026 | Deposited for objections |
| Tira, Ramot Amal (TML/1134) | An abandoned 1980s building shell and a former primary school (Xplan: 120 homes) | About 250 (Xplan: 120 + 130) | 5 and 8 floors | Deposit decided at the VATMAL hearing of 10 Sep 2026 (Xplan) | Deposit approved, conditions being met |
Sources: Planning Administration and Israel Land Authority announcements on gov.il (20 Jan, 15 Jul and 12 Aug 2026), ynet (1 Oct 2026) and mako (22 Jan 2026) reports listed on gov.il, and the Xplan plan records linked in each row, checked 29 Oct 2026.
Petah Tikva. The citywide plan was initiated by the Government Authority for Urban Renewal and the municipality under section 23 of TAMA 38 and covers much of the city. It lets owners renew a building either by strengthening it and adding floors or by demolishing and rebuilding it, with building rights set by renewal zone (main metropolitan streets, main city streets, and city areas B and C). The Planning Administration put the full potential at tens of thousands of homes if every building renewed at the maximum, so read the 11,000 figure as the plan’s target, not a forecast. If you are weighing an older flat in the city, see our guide to buying urban renewal apartments in Petah Tikva.
Herzliya. At Sokolov 25-27 the historic Beit Tankus is kept and turned into shops and offices, the tower adds about 1,300 square metres of retail, 700 of offices and 500 of built public space, and 20% of the homes will be 30 to 65 square metres, with 25% up to 80. The site is in the first ring around the future Herzliya Center metro station under TAMA 70, the national plan for metro station areas.
Be’er Ya’akov. The Israel Land Authority’s plan, with the municipality, covers about 435 dunam of the old centre: shikun blocks, roof-garden buildings and ground-level homes. Besides housing it sets about 21,000 square metres of retail and offices, about 180,000 square metres of public buildings and about 53 dunam of public open space, including a high school, primary schools, kindergartens, day-care, a community centre, a clinic and synagogues. Some residents could move into new buildings on the site of the public pool in the north of the compound before their old buildings are demolished.
Ramla. The city has several separate plans, which are easy to mix up. The Giora and Eshkol compounds are distinct plans with their own numbers; our report on the Eshkol compound has the background. The train-station compound covers about 200 dunam between Herzl Street (south), Tel Hai (east), the HaShoftim neighbourhood (west) and Lohamei Beitar (north), with about 250,000 square metres of retail and offices and about 33,000 square metres of public buildings; our weekly market report covered its deposit.
Tira. Ramot Amal is the city’s first urban renewal plan. According to mako’s report, about 120 families bought flats there on paper in the 1980s before the developer went bankrupt, and the site has stood unfinished since; the municipality owns the land. The plan mixes 5-floor buildings that families build themselves with five 8-floor developer buildings that have shops on the ground floor.
Tel Aviv and Gush Dan
| City and compound (plan) | Homes now | Homes planned | Height | Latest decision reported | Xplan status, 29 Oct 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ramat Gan, Abba Hillel, Rashi and Arnia, Nahalat Ganim (506-0897504) | 161 in 14 buildings | 522 (Xplan: 164 + 348) | Two towers of 48 floors | Approved by the Tel Aviv District Committee, reported 5 Aug 2026 | In the approval process |
| Ramat Gan, Sokolov and HaSavyon, HaGefen (RG/1822) | 84 in 7 buildings | 400 (Xplan: 109 + 251) | Towers of 38, 38 and 20 floors | Approved, reported 5 Aug 2026 | In the approval process |
| Ramat Gan, Shalem 35 at Kikar HaRav Pardes, Ramat HaShikma (RG/1856) | 36 | 122 | 25 floors | Approved, reported 18 May 2026 | Approval published |
| Ramat Gan, Abba Hillel, Rokach and Herut (RG/1767) | 30 in 2 buildings | 170 (Xplan: 30 + 60) | 35 floors | Approved, reported 18 May 2026 | In the approval process |
| Ramat Gan, Mishmar HaYarden, Rosh Pina and Metula (506-1162346) | 80 in 6 buildings | 224 | Two towers of 23 floors | Approved at the hearing of 18 May 2026 | Approval published |
| Givatayim, Histadrut compound (GB/431) | 914 (Xplan) | 3,108 (Xplan: 914 + 2,194) | Not stated | Approved; Xplan approval date July 2018 | Approval published |
| Givatayim, North Histadrut (GB/589) | 168 (Xplan) | 500 (Xplan: 168 + 332) | Not stated | Approved; Xplan approval date December 2017 | Approved |
| Holon, Yoseftal area (H/655) | 534 (Xplan) | 1,620 (Xplan: 534 + 1,086) | Not stated | Approved; Xplan approval date December 2025 | Approval published |
| Tel Aviv, North HaArgazim (TA/MK/4822) | 720 (Xplan) | 1,870 (Xplan: 720 + 1,150) | Not stated | Approved; Xplan approval date June 2023 | Approval published |
Sources: ynet (5 Aug 2026) and mako (18 May 2026) reports listed on gov.il, and the Xplan plan records linked in each row, checked 29 Oct 2026.
Ramat Gan. The 2026 plans lean hard on small homes. At Abba Hillel, Rashi and Arnia, 56 of the homes are micro units of up to 45 square metres and 116 are up to 75 square metres, plus diuriyot (דיוריות, flats designed to be split into separately rentable units). The same plan ties two extra floors and 20 extra homes to setting up a long-term maintenance fund for the towers, which the District Committee called the first mechanism of its kind in Gush Dan. At Sokolov and HaSavyon about 160 homes will be 50 to 70 square metres, and a new street will link HaLapid and Sokolov. Shalem 35 includes 25 small flats of up to 55 square metres, and the Abba Hillel, Rokach and Herut tower has 55 small flats, a widened Abba Hillel Road and a 6-floor public building. For other recent Ramat Gan plans, see our reports on three compounds deposited in February 2026 and the HaGefen developer tender.
Givatayim. The Histadrut compound plan covers about 100 dunam made up of sub-compounds, several of which have since had their own amending plans approved on Xplan, so the 2018 figures describe the whole area rather than one building. Nearby, the Kurzin employment compound plan (GB/418A, approved, Xplan date April 2025) adds 746 homes to the 373 already approved there, taking the compound past 1,000 homes.
Tel Aviv. North HaArgazim in south Tel Aviv has an approved plan, but approval is only the start: building permits, owner agreements and moving residents out all come before demolition. Reports of about 2,170 apartments there do not match the plan record, which lists 1,870 homes; the difference may be assisted-living or other special-purpose units that Xplan does not count as ordinary housing.
Jerusalem
| Neighbourhood and compound (plan) | Homes now | Homes planned | Height | Latest decision reported | Xplan status, 29 Oct 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Pisgat Zeev, south of Heil HaAvir Street (101-1406552) | About 130 in 9 buildings of 4 and 5 floors | 870 (Xplan: 131 + 739) | 8 towers of 18 to 22 floors | Jerusalem District Committee decided to deposit, announced 12 Jan 2026 (Xplan hearing date 6 Jan 2026) | Deposit approved, conditions being met |
Sources: Calcalist report (12 Jan 2026) listed on gov.il and the Xplan plan record, checked 29 Oct 2026.
Pisgat Zeev’s first Pinui Binui plan matters beyond its 12 dunam. The buildings it replaces went up in the 1980s, about 40 years ago, not in the 1950s and 1960s like most shikun blocks in renewal plans, so it shows renewal starting to reach newer neighbourhoods. The plan also sets about 3,000 square metres of public buildings; the developers are Omer Engineering and Tnufa. Elsewhere in the city, our report on the Har Nof developer selection shows a project at an earlier stage: a developer selection, not a deposited plan.
The south
| City and compound (plan) | Homes now | Homes planned | Height | Latest decision reported | Xplan status, 29 Oct 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sderot, Palmach compound (611-1179506) | 139 in 3 buildings of 3 floors | 515 in 10 buildings (Xplan: 131 + 384) | Not stated | Deposited; approved at the Southern District Committee hearing of 23 Sep 2026 (Xplan) | In the approval process |
| Eilat, Tamarim compound, HaDekel | 208 | 474 | 7 and 10 floors, towers of 25 and 27 floors | Final approval by the Southern District Committee, reported 1 Oct 2026 | Not found on Xplan when checked |
| Eilat, Barnea compound, HaDekel (602-1306059) | About 130 | About 484 (Xplan: 134 + 449) | Up to 10 floors, towers of about 25 and 29 floors | Southern District Committee decided to deposit, announced 5 Mar 2026 | Deposit approved, conditions being met |
| Netivot, city centre and Brit Kehuna (TML/2027) | About 800 in Brit Kehuna (Xplan: 560 for the whole plan) | About 7,500 (Xplan: 560 + 6,951) | Towers up to 30 floors, other buildings 5 to 10 | Approved for deposit by VATMAL, 2 Jul 2026 | Deposited for objections |
Sources: Planning Administration (5 Mar 2026) and Israel Land Authority (2 Jul 2026) announcements on gov.il, ynet (1 Oct 2026) and Maariv (28 Sep 2026) reports listed on gov.il, and the Xplan plan records linked in each row, checked 29 Oct 2026.
Sderot. This is the city’s first urban renewal plan, on about 32 dunam in the old centre, from the Government Authority for Urban Renewal and the municipality. It adds about 1,800 square metres of street-level shops along Menachem Begin and Herzl, about 2.5 dunam for public needs in two plots (one for early-childhood education, one for citywide use) and about 1,200 square metres of public buildings. One report called the September decision an approval for deposit; Xplan shows the plan was already deposited and reached its approval hearing on 23 September 2026.
Eilat. Tamarim (about 21.5 dunam along Sderot HaTmarim) and Barnea (18.7 dunam on Xplan) are two different compounds in the HaDekel neighbourhood, both promoted by the Government Authority for Urban Renewal and the municipality as part of the push for Pinui Binui in cities at high earthquake risk. Tamarim relies on Standard 21.1, the appraisers’ standard for checking whether a renewal plan pays for itself, and a government subsidy to make the numbers work; our declaration and funding guide explains how those subsidies work. A third compound, Paran in the Arava neighbourhood, reached a deposit decision on 9 February 2026 according to its Xplan record; our Paran report has the details.
Netivot. Half the new homes are in Brit Kehuna, where 12 Pinui Binui compounds replace about 800 existing homes, and the Ba’alei Melacha industrial area becomes a city centre with 3-floor shopping streets topped by offices or homes of 7 to 20 floors. Our report on the day Netivot’s plan was deposited covers the rest of that week’s approvals.
Haifa and the Krayot
| City and compound (plan) | Homes now | Homes planned | Height | Latest decision reported | Xplan status, 29 Oct 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Kiryat Motzkin, Hashmonaim (352-1227958) | 192 in 7 buildings of 4 to 8 floors | 953 (Xplan: 192 + 708) | 4 towers up to 41 floors | Haifa District Committee decided to deposit, reported 5 Aug 2026 (Xplan hearing date 3 Aug 2026) | Deposit approved, conditions being met |
| Haifa, Kiryat Eliezer Compound 11 (304-1464700) | 160 in 7 buildings (Xplan: 168) | 667 | 4 towers of 20 to 32 floors and a 10-floor building | Final approval (validity), reported 5 Aug 2026 | Approval published |
| Haifa, Kiryat Eliezer Compound 12 (304-1335231) | 216 (Xplan) | 970 (Xplan: 216 + 754) | Not stated on Xplan | Deposited (Xplan) | Deposited for objections |
| Haifa, Grand Canyon mall (304-1273713) | None | 300 new homes | A residential tower, plus 4 hotel and conference floors above the mall | Final approval (validity), reported 5 Aug 2026 | In the approval process |
| Haifa, Brenner 20-30, Ramot Remez (304-1279249) | 24 in 2 buildings (Xplan: 42) | 182 | A 28-floor tower and a 10-floor building | Final approval (validity), reported 1 Oct 2026 | In the approval process |
| Nesher, Maale HaGiborim (355-1064344) | 305 (Xplan) | About 1,860 homes plus about 130 special-housing units | 12 high-rise buildings with low-rise buildings | 27 May 2026: substantive changes ordered and the plan to be republished for objections | Deposited for objections |
Sources: ynet reports (5 Aug and 1 Oct 2026) listed on gov.il, the Israel Land Authority announcement (16 Jun 2026) on gov.il, and the Xplan plan records linked in each row, checked 29 Oct 2026.
Kiryat Motzkin. The Hashmonaim plan, from the municipality and Dar Nofarim, covers about 29 dunam between the railway and Hashmonaim Street, with the towers over shops and offices, about 5 dunam of open space, 3.6 dunam for a school, a promenade along the railway and 3 underground parking levels.
Haifa. Kiryat Eliezer has several numbered compounds at different stages. Compound 11 (about 24 dunam between Allenby Road and Tzahal Street, by the Haifa local committee with Almogim Hitchadshut) keeps the historic Beit HaHistadrut, makes more than 160 of its homes small flats and sets about 5.7 dunam for public buildings and 4.5 dunam of open space. Compound 12 is a separate plan of about 26.5 dunam on Xplan; our Kiryat Eliezer report follows it. At the Grand Canyon mall the fuel station gives way to the residential tower and the roof becomes public culture and leisure space. At Brenner 20-30 the owners organised themselves and chose the developer, Avnei Derech. In Bat Galim, the plan to clear the Navy training base (HP/2177/D) is approved on Xplan with 1,240 homes, a redevelopment of military land rather than a renewal of existing flats.
Nesher. Maale HaGiborim covers about 98 dunam around a central open space of about 13 dunam. After objections, mainly from the Israel Land Authority over the plan’s balancing and allocation tables, the Haifa District Committee decided on 27 May 2026 to change the plan’s boundary, balancing tables, building rights and land uses and to republish it for objections under section 106B of the Planning and Building Law. It is a good example of how a deposited plan can still change substantially.
What the plans do not promise
- Transport dates. Several plans are designed around transit that does not exist yet. Be’er Ya’akov’s plan counts on two future metro stations north and south of the compound, a heavy-rail station and Brown Line stops on Naomi Shemer Street, and Herzliya’s Sokolov 25-27 sits in the first ring of a future metro station. A planning decision does not set when a line opens. Check the current timetable with the transport authority before paying for proximity to a station.
- Schools and clinics. Plans allocate land and floor space for public buildings, such as Kiryat Motzkin’s 3.6-dunam school plot or Sderot’s early-childhood plot. A plot zoned for a school is not a school; ask the municipality whether the building is budgeted and when.
- Parking. Newer plans cut parking on purpose. Netivot’s plan sets reduced private-parking standards, bus priority routes, a cycle network and plots for public parking structures that pool spaces near main roads, which can also spare renewal developers the cost of deep basements. If two parking spaces matter to you, check the standard in the specific plan.
- Final numbers. Home counts change between filing, deposit and approval, as the gaps between announcements and Xplan above show, and a plan can be sent back for objections, as in Nesher.
- Your flat’s deal. An approved plan does not mean the owners have signed, that a developer has financing or that your building is in the first phase. Each of those is a separate check.
Plans we are still checking
Reports also describe renewal plans in Or Yehuda’s Giora neighbourhood, Yavne’s Neot Ben Gurion, Hadera’s Rambam neighbourhood, Beersheba’s Shikun Alef, Bat Yam’s Yoseftal axis and Ramat Gan’s HaHaruzim. We have not yet matched them to an official plan record with a current stage, so they are not in the tables. We will add them once the planning record confirms what they are and where they stand.
How to check an address yourself
- Find the plan. Search the plan number or the street on the Planning Administration’s Xplan or Mavat site. The record shows the plan’s area, its status, its hearing dates and the documents.
- Read the plan, not the headline. The plan instructions (הוראות התכנית) list the buildings to be demolished, the number and size of new homes and the phasing. Check that your building is inside the plan’s blue line.
- Check the compound’s renewal status. Look the compound up on the Government Authority for Urban Renewal’s compound list and see our guide to what each renewal status proves.
- Ask about signatures and the developer. Ask the owners’ representatives or the developer how many owners have signed and which phase your building is in. A plan with no signed developer can sit for years.
- Price the wait. Before paying extra for a flat because of a renewal plan, work out what you would pay for it if nothing happened for ten years. Our red flags guide covers the other checks for older buildings.
This is general information, not legal or tax advice; confirm with a licensed professional.
Sources
- Planning Administration, Xplan public plan layer, and the Mavat plan pages linked in each table row, all read on 29 October 2026.
- Planning Administration, final approval of the Petah Tikva citywide urban renewal plan (20 January 2026).
- Israel Land Authority, Be’er Ya’akov old-centre plan TML/2054 approved for deposit (12 August 2026, updated 17 August 2026).
- Israel Land Authority, Ramla train-station compound approved for deposit (16 July 2026).
- Israel Land Authority, Netivot city-centre plan TML/2027 approved for deposit (2 July 2026).
- Israel Land Authority, Nesher Maale HaGiborim plan to be changed and republished for objections (16 June 2026).
- Planning Administration, Eilat Barnea compound approved for deposit (5 March 2026).
- ynet, renewal plans in Ramat Gan, Kiryat Motzkin and Haifa (5 August 2026, listed on gov.il).
- ynet, renewal plans in Herzliya, Haifa, Sderot and Eilat (1 October 2026, listed on gov.il).
- Maariv, the Sderot Palmach compound (28 September 2026, listed on gov.il).
- mako, three Ramat Gan renewal plans (18 May 2026, listed on gov.il).
- mako, the Tira Ramot Amal plan (22 January 2026, listed on gov.il).
- Calcalist, the first Pinui Binui plan in Pisgat Zeev (12 January 2026, listed on gov.il).
Looking at a flat in an older building and want to know what its renewal plan really means for the price and the wait? Send us the address through our urban renewal enquiry page and we’ll pull the plan record, tell you which stage it is at and what to ask the seller before you make an offer.